Book Review – Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff

After reading, and loving, How I Live Now (also by meg Rosoff) I was extremely excited to be given a proof paperback of her latest book, Picture Me Gone.

20130915-141316.jpg

Like How I Live Now, Ms Rosoff narrates through the eyes of a child (in this case 12 year old Mila) who has travelled to America with her father to look for his missing childhood friend and idol. Conversation in the book is narrated, so instead of having text such as Gil smiles. “Matthew doesn’t hunt.”, you get it without the speech marks. This is quite refreshing and makes it read like it is all coming from Mila (like she is writing it in a diary).

The book follows the hunt for Matthew by Gil and Mila. I don’t want to spoil the book as I feel you should read it if you are a Rosoff fan. Actually, even if you don’t know her read this one my advice would be read this before you read How I Live Now (which is a much better book in my humble opinion). This one is good, but I was left wondering about it. The blurb on the back cover says this is a gripping new coming-of-age story; I don’t agree. I don’t see that Mila did much coming of age in the book, if at all.

It’s a neat little story. But I was left thinking is that it when I finished it. It’s a shame as her other work is just so much better. I can’t justify a high score for this book, but equally it is better than a 2 out of 5.

SCORE: 3 out of 5.

You can follow Meg Rosoff on Twitter to find out her latest news and updates.

