Book Review – How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

How I Live Now has been out for a while, published in 2004, though I only read it recently having been recommended it by a friend.

20130823-174409.jpg

There is an abundance of reviews for this book, and I doubt I can shed any new light on it over and above the three, four and five star ratings it has on Amazon.

Suffice to say I found the book extremely entertaining and an excellent read. It’s very easy to follow, and thoroughly enjoyable. The style is exactly what you would expect as it is meant to be a narration by a fifteen year old girl. Meg has got this down extremely well (she would have been a fifteen year old girl once so she just needed to dip into her own history for how girls think and act).

The book has just been made into a film, releasing now I believe. I am looking forward to seeing it. You can view the trailer here. It looks exactly like my kind of film. (There is clearly a bit of poetic licence going on near the end but I guess they did it to build the tension and excitement).

Overall it is well written and I found it to be a total page turner, needing to know what was going to happen next to all of the characters. No real negatives on this one. It comes highly recommended and you must read it.

SCORE: 4 out of 5

You can follow Meg Rosoff on Twitter to find out her latest news and updates.

