Steampunk – my love for

20130821-150157.jpg

Ever since I was a young girl I have loved dressing up. I used to play in my parents’ bedroom for hours, going through my mum’s wardrobe and trying on her clothes, then smearing makeup over my face. My sister loved it too, and we would have competitions to see who could wear the most clothes at the same time.

As I grew older I started to appreciate everything vintage and Victoriana…so stepping into steampunk was a natural progression.

20130821-150206.jpg

I still have a total love of dressing up (and Cosplay) and steampunk for me is a way to express myself in a totally stylish and imaginative way. I spend a lot of time in jeans, but any chance to put on a dress is totally ok with me. Make it an old fashioned one with jewellery, goggles, watches and the odd gun, and that is right up my street.

20130821-150212.jpg

A good friend introduced me to a wonderful site called Steampunk Girls which is where the images on this page are from. Check it out if you haven’t seen it before. It is a great site if you are interested in steampunk and fashion.

20130821-150217.jpg

If you live in the UK like me, and you are free in November, you might like to get along to Whitby for the Goth (and steampunk) weekend. Who knows, you might even bump into me 😉

