Girls Film Night – Your Sister’s Sister

This Saturday night and I had my best friend with me to watch a movie. We picked Your Sister’s Sister, starring Emily Blunt, Rosemarie DeWitt and Mark Duplass.

20130817-231029.jpg

The plot is fairly simple. Jack (played by Duplass) is offered the chance to stay at the family cabin of his best friend Iris (played by Blunt) to get his head together after celebrating the life of Jack’s dead brother, who Iris used to date, on the first anniversary of brother’s death.

20130817-231039.jpg

SPOILER ALERT – skip the next paragraph IF you haven’t seen the film and intend to.

Jack goes to the cabin and finds Iris’s sister, Hannah (played by DeWitt), already there after breaking up from her lover of seven years. They chat and drink into the early hours, have sex, and then Iris turns up and tells her sister she loves Jack. There is a moment in the film where everything turns to shit for all three of them, then they repair and live happily ever after…maybe.

SPOILER OVER

Anyway, now I have spoilt it for you (hopefully not if you heeded my warning), let me tell you my impressions.

At first I didn’t like Jack at all. He seemed a bit morose (ok I know his brother died but…) and pretty unattractive. Hannah was trying to do right by her sister, and eventually does do the right thing. Iris was brilliantly portrayed by Blunt and I absolutely LOVE the scene where she gets into bed with Hannah because she can’t sleep. It reminded me so much of me and my sister when we were younger, getting into bed with each other and talking about ‘stuff’ (mainly boys). It was just so natural and real. It made me want to be there myself, talking and laughing with them.

20130817-231045.jpg

I also love the bit where Iris puts her foot in Jack’s face, and her laugh as she runs away just gave me goosebumps.

By the end of the movie Jack has suddenly turned into quite an attractive guy and I really just wanted to give him a hug. I don’t know if it was intentional but his character just got better and better through the film.

20130817-231050.jpg

It was sad in parts but also funny, a bit of a rollercoaster. I like it when a film makes me laugh, and I also like it when it makes me cry as it means it got to me. This did both. I would recommend it and as for a score, I would go for a really good seven out of ten.

